University Policies Archive - 麻豆原创 /policy/current/ Four-Year University in 麻豆原创 Thu, 10 Sep 2026 22:38:45 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=7.0.4 /wp-content/uploads/2023/07/NS-Monogram-GoldBlack.svg University Policies Archive - 麻豆原创 /policy/current/ 32 32 麻豆原创 Academic Faculty Handbook AY 2026-2027 /policy/current/nevada-state-university-academic-faculty-handbook-ay-2026-2027/ /policy/current/nevada-state-university-academic-faculty-handbook-ay-2026-2027/#respond Mon, 24 Aug 2026 22:02:49 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1987677 The 2026-2027 Academic Faculty Handbook is now maintained on the University Policy Library. Please visit the link below for the current, complete version of the Handbook. 麻豆原创 Academic Faculty Handbook聽

The post 麻豆原创 Academic Faculty Handbook AY 2026-2027 appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
The 2026-2027 Academic Faculty Handbook is now maintained on the University Policy Library. Please visit the link below for the current, complete version of the Handbook.

麻豆原创 Academic Faculty Handbook聽

The post 麻豆原创 Academic Faculty Handbook AY 2026-2027 appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/nevada-state-university-academic-faculty-handbook-ay-2026-2027/feed/ 0
AO 35 Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) /policy/current/ao-35-credit-for-prior-learning-cpl/ /policy/current/ao-35-credit-for-prior-learning-cpl/#respond Wed, 29 Jul 2026 21:13:44 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1987005 Download PDF Here 麻豆原创 may grant academic credit to students who have acquired knowledge and skills outside of traditional credit-bearing courses. To earn credit, students complete an approved assessment and demonstrate that they have met or exceeded NSU鈥檚 established standards. 35.1 External Requirements The NWCCU requires that 鈥淭ransfer credit and credit for prior […]

The post AO 35 Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here

麻豆原创 may grant academic credit to students who have acquired knowledge and skills outside of traditional credit-bearing courses. To earn credit, students complete an approved assessment and demonstrate that they have met or exceeded NSU鈥檚 established standards.

35.1 External Requirements

The NWCCU requires that 鈥淭ransfer credit and credit for prior learning is accepted according to clearly defined, widely published, and easily accessible policies that provide adequate safeguards to ensure academic quality. In accepting transfer credit, the receiving institution ensures that such credit accepted is appropriate for its programs and comparable in nature, content, academic rigor, and quality.鈥

The NSHE Handbook (Title 4, Chapter 14) provides guidelines for credit by examination (Section 21) and directs institutions to evaluate three types of military transcripts for appropriate credit (Section 22):

  • Joint Services Transcript (JST);
  • Air University transcripts;
  • Community College of the Air Force (CCAF) transcripts.

35.2 Earning Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)

35.2.1 Credit by Standardized Exam

The NSHE Handbook allows NSU to use scores on external exams to award college credit. NSU accepts the following exams:

  • Advanced Placement (AP);
  • College-Level Examination Program (CLEP);
  • DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST).
  • International Baccalaureate (IB).

Minimum scores on each exam and their course equivalencies comply with NSHE minimums (Handbook Title 4 Chapter 14) and are published in the NSU academic catalog.

35.2.2 Credit by Internal Exam

Students may earn credit by completing a comprehensive examination and earning a score that demonstrates mastery of a course鈥檚 learning outcomes. Guidelines for credit by internal exam are published in the NSU academic catalog.

35.2.3 Non-traditional Credit

Students may request an evaluation of non-college training, including courses offered by employers or the military. Academic faculty with subject matter expertise and the Office of the Registrar evaluate these requests based on the recommendations of the American Council on Education (ACE) and the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning鈥檚 (CAEL) Standards for Assessing Prior Learning.

Military Transcripts

Academic faculty with subject matter expertise review Joint Services Transcripts (JSTs) and determine course equivalencies based on established outcomes and the American Council on Education (ACE) recommendations. The Office of the Registrar may recommend granting lower-division elective credit instead of credit for a specific course. The Office of the Registrar evaluates transcripts from Air University and the Community College of the Air Force for course equivalencies.

A list of pre-approved course equivalencies is available in the NSU catalog and posted on the NS website; the list is reviewed each term and updated as needed.

35.2.4 Military Service Elective Credits

Veterans who served at least 12 months on active duty in the United States Armed Forces and who were honorably discharged may request to be granted a maximum of 4 lower-division general elective credits. When applying for admission, a copy of the Report of Separation (DD-214) must be submitted to the Office of Admissions and Recruitment.

35.2.5 Other Non-traditional Learning

NSU will consider requests for evaluation of forms of non-traditional learning that are not specified in this policy on a case-by-case basis, using recommendations from the American Council on Education (ACE) and the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning鈥檚 (CAEL) Standards for Assessing Prior Learning.

35.3 Limitations

35.3.1 Maximum Credits

The number of credits earned for prior learning applied toward a NSU degree cannot exceed 50% of the minimum number of credits required for the degree.

35.3.2 GPA and Transcripts

CPL does not affect a student鈥檚 GPA. The student鈥檚 transcript will identify any CPL credit with the type, number of credits granted, and a grade of Satisfactory (S).

35.3.3 CPL and Enrollment

CPL does not count toward a student鈥檚 semester enrollment and does not affect financial aid calculations.

35.3.4 Content Duplication

NSU will not award credit that duplicates previously earned course credit or other credit awarded through CPL. This prevents students from receiving credit twice for the same learning.

35.3.5 NSU Residency

Students pursuing an undergraduate degree must complete 30 upper-division credits at NSU. CPL does not count toward this requirement.

35.3.6 Transferring CPL

NSU must evaluate CPL transferred from another institution unless those courses are already included in the CPL Crosswalk. CPL accepted at NSU may not transfer to other institutions; students should verify transfer acceptance directly with the receiving institution, particularly those outside of NSHE.

35.4 Related Information

  • NWCCU 2020 Standard 1.C.8
  • NSHE

35.4.1 Revision History

  • Approved by Dr. Raul Tapia, Chair of Academic Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee, February 2026; Deans Council (6 vote for approval, 0 against), 3/13/2026; Berna Rhodes-Ford, General Counsel, 7/15/2026; Dr. Gwen Sharp, Interim Provost, 7/15/2026; Dr. Amber Lopez Lasater, Acting President, 7/29/2026.

The post AO 35 Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-35-credit-for-prior-learning-cpl/feed/ 0
AO 32 Academic Calendar Approval /policy/current/ao-32-academic-calendar-approval/ /policy/current/ao-32-academic-calendar-approval/#respond Wed, 29 Jul 2026 21:10:20 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1987003 Download PDF Here 32.1 Overview 麻豆原创 State鈥檚 academic calendar lists official academic dates and events relevant to students and employees. It identifies start and end dates for each term, key dates for students (such as drop/withdraw deadlines), and holidays and breaks. NS operates on a semester system, with approximately equal length fall and spring semesters, […]

The post AO 32 Academic Calendar Approval appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here

32.1 Overview

麻豆原创 State鈥檚 academic calendar lists official academic dates and events relevant to students and employees. It identifies start and end dates for each term, key dates for students (such as drop/withdraw deadlines), and holidays and breaks.

NS operates on a semester system, with approximately equal length fall and spring semesters, as well as a winter intersession, summer terms, and accelerated terms within the fall and spring semesters. Courses must meet the required instructional contact time for the number of credits earned, regardless of the length of the term. Refer to the policy on Credit Hours for details.

32.2 Review and Approval Process

The academic calendar goes through these stages of approval:

  1. Office of the Registrar drafts the academic calendar and submits it to the appropriate Academic Faculty Senate committee. The draft considers the following items:
    1. Review of previous academic calendars to ensure continuity and identify best practices.
    2. Holidays and officially observed institutional closures are incorporated.
    3. Federal financial aid regulations are considered.
    4. The Office of the Registrar may consult with academic leadership and other relevant campus offices, as appropriate.
    5. The Office of the Registrar reviews and considers published 麻豆原创 System of Higher Education (NSHE) and Clark County School District (CCSD) breaks; however, the final calendar is established according to NSU鈥檚 academic priorities and institutional interests.
  2. Academic Faculty Senate committee reviews the draft calendar and may propose changes. Following its review, the committee chair forwards a recommendation to the Provost.
  3. The Provost considers the committee recommendation, consults with Deans Council and relevant administrative office, and either:
    1. Approves the calendar and notifies the Registrar [skip to step 6]; or
    2. Returns the draft with feedback and rationale to the Registrar for further revisions [proceed to step 4].
  4. Office of the Registrar addresses and/or integrates feedback and returns the revised calendar with any rationale to the Provost.
  5. Provost approves the academic calendar and notifies the Registrar.
  6. Registrar publishes approved calendar.

32.2.1 Posting the Academic Calendar

The approved academic calendar is published on the NS website at least 6 months prior to the start of the academic year. Draft academic calendars for the next three academic years are published each spring on the NS website, following approval of the upcoming academic year鈥檚 final calendar, and are clearly labeled as tentative and subject to change until formally approved.

32.2.2 Calendar Revisions

Any member of the NSU community may submit proposed revisions to draft calendars directly to the Registrar. The Registrar emails proposed revisions, along with a recommendation in favor or against them, to the Academic Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC). The FSEC reviews proposed revisions and submits a recommendation to approve or deny them to the Provost, who makes a final decision to approve or deny a revision.

32.2.3 Mandated Changes and Extenuating Circumstances

Academic calendar changes that are mandated by federal or state law, NSHE policy or directives, or executive orders will be integrated into the calendar by the Office of the Registrar promptly and will be communicated to campus without the standard review process.

If unexpected, extenuating circumstances affect the academic calendar, the Provost will approve emergency revisions. If possible, the Provost will consult with the Registrar, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, and the Deans Council before approving or communicating changes.

32.3 Required Academic Calendar Elements

NS is closed and classes are cancelled for official holidays recognized by the State of 麻豆原创. All semesters and terms end on a Saturday. Final grades are due by noon the Wednesday following the last day of classes.

For 9-month academic faculty, the fall and spring semesters combined consist of 175 academic working days.

32.3.1 Fall and Spring Semesters

  1. The full semester runs for 16 weeks. There is no separate final exams week.
  2. The week before classes start is prep week for academic faculty.
  3. A week-long spring break is scheduled during the spring semester. Spring break dates for the School of Nursing are adjusted from the University-wide dates, beginning on a Wednesday and ending the following Tuesday.
  4. The degree conferral date is the last day of the 16-week semester.
  5. The School of Nursing pre-licensure BSN program operates on 15-week sessions in fall and spring; classes start on the same day as the regular term but end a week early. RN-BSN and MSN programs are offered in 7- and 8-week sessions and follow due dates specified for their accelerated terms.

32.3.2 Winter Intersession

Winter intersessions are four weeks long. They begin the Monday immediately after the fall semester ends. Registration for the winter intersession begins at the same time as registration for the spring semester.

Courses taken in the winter intersession count toward a student鈥檚 spring semester courseload/credits and financial aid package, if applicable.

32.3.3 Summer Terms

  1. Summer includes 6-, 7-, 12-, and 14-week sessions; start dates for each are included in the calendar.
  2. Registration for summer term begins at the same time as registration for the fall semester.
  3. The degree conferral date is the last day of the 14-week term.
  4. School of Nursing operates on a 14-week session, which starts 1 week before the 12-week summer term and ends 1 week after the 12-week summer term.
    • RN-BSN and MSN programs are offered in two 7-week sessions.

32.4 Related Information

  1. Credit Hours Policy (Academic Operations)

32.4.1 Revision History

  • Approved by Dr. Raul Tapia, Chair of Academic Faculty Senate Faculty Affairs Committee, 5/4/2026; Deans Council, 5/27/2026; Berna Rhodes-Ford, General Counsel, 7/22/2026; Dr. Gwen Sharp, Interim Provost, 7/22/2026; Dr. Amber Lopez Lasater, Acting President, 7/29/2026.

The post AO 32 Academic Calendar Approval appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-32-academic-calendar-approval/feed/ 0
AO 26 Post-baccalaureate Programs and Additional Degrees /policy/current/ao-26-post-baccalaureate-programs-and-additional-degrees/ /policy/current/ao-26-post-baccalaureate-programs-and-additional-degrees/#respond Wed, 29 Jul 2026 21:08:18 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1987000 Download PDF Here Students who have previously earned a bachelor鈥檚 degree may wish to enroll as a post-baccalaureate student to enhance their GPA before applying to graduate or professional schools, to pursue additional degrees, or to develop skills and knowledge for their professional growth. Many students use post-baccalaureate coursework as a bridge to pursue graduate […]

The post AO 26 Post-baccalaureate Programs and Additional Degrees appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here

Students who have previously earned a bachelor鈥檚 degree may wish to enroll as a post-baccalaureate student to enhance their GPA before applying to graduate or professional schools, to pursue additional degrees, or to develop skills and knowledge for their professional growth. Many students use post-baccalaureate coursework as a bridge to pursue graduate or professional study in a field different from their original bachelor鈥檚 degree. Post-baccalaureate coursework may be used to complete prerequisites, gain foundational knowledge, and strengthen applications for master鈥檚 or doctoral programs in new disciplines. Students are encouraged to consult with academic advisors to design a course plan that aligns with their educational and career goals.

Federal financial aid may not be available for post-baccalaureate studies. Post-baccalaureate students should meet with a financial aid advisor to discuss whether they are eligible for any financial aid programs.

26.1 Post-baccalaureate Study as a Bridge to Graduate Programs

Students who have earned a bachelor鈥檚 degree in one discipline and wish to pursue a graduate or professional degree in a different field (at NSU or another institution) may use post-baccalaureate study as a bridge to prepare for this transition. Post-baccalaureate programs can provide foundational coursework, prerequisite knowledge, and skill development necessary for admission to master鈥檚 or professional programs outside their original field of study. Students interested in this pathway are strongly encouraged to consult with academic advisors and graduate program representatives to design an appropriate course plan tailored to their goals.

26.2 Additional Baccalaureate Degrees

26.2.1 General Requirements

  1. The degree must have at least 18 unique credits that differentiate it from any other bachelor鈥檚 degree previously earned.
  2. The degree must be within a major discipline that the student did not complete as a major for any previous baccalaureate degree. Students may pursue an additional degree within a discipline that they previously completed an academic minor in, provided they fulfill all other requirements for the major and additional baccalaureate degree.
  3. Students are not eligible to enroll as undecided students.
  4. Aside from the requirements established in this chapter, students must adhere to NS policies on degree requirements, catalog years, pre-requisites, academic recognition (honors), and other academic requirements.
  5. Post-baccalaureate students may enroll in a degree or as non-degree-seeking students. They must meet all pre-requisites for courses they wish to take.

26.2.2 Enrollment After a Previous NS or Other NSHE Degree

  1. The student must apply for admission to the University.
  2. The student will be held to all school, major, and graduation requirements for the catalog year in which they are admitted for post-baccalaureate study
  3. Core Curriculum courses completed for previous degrees will satisfy Core Curriculum requirements for the additional degree, except for any new or additional Core Curriculum requirements effective in the catalog year of readmission.
  4. The student must complete 30 upper-division credits in residence at NS. Credits applied to earlier degrees earned at NS, even those above the 120 credits required for graduation, will not be applied toward the residency requirement for an additional baccalaureate degree. Specific courses required for the additional degree that were completed for an earlier degree will be waived; however, the credits toward residency must be made up through upper-division electives.
  5. The student must earn a minimum GPA of 2.0 on all credits taken since the awarding of the previous degree.
  6. The student will receive an additional diploma listing the new degree and major earned.
  7. The student鈥檚 cumulative GPA will include all NSU coursework as well as any transferable coursework from other institutions. Degree-specific GPAs are calculated only using courses completed at NSU.
    1. The degree-specific GPA for an additional NSU degree includes coursework applied to the student鈥檚 first NSU degree and courses taken specifically for the additional degree at NSU.

26.2.3 Enrollment After Previous Degree from Outside NSHE

A student who has earned a baccalaureate degree from an accredited U.S. institution must meet these requirements:

  1. Complete all school and major requirements for the additional degree.
  2. Fulfill all Core Curriculum requirements that are not fulfilled by the previous degree.
  3. Complete the 麻豆原创 Constitution Core Curriculum requirement, either by taking an applicable course at an NSHE institution or through credit by exam.
  4. Complete 30 upper-division credits in residence at NS.

26.4 Structured Post-baccalaureate Programs and Certificates

Some academic units offer structured post-baccalaureate certificate programs or formalized curricula designed to prepare students for graduate study or career changes in a new discipline. These programs provide targeted coursework and advising to meet prerequisites or foundational knowledge required by master鈥檚 or professional programs. Students interested in such options should consult their academic department or school for available programs and admission requirements.

26.5 Related Information and History

  • Replaces language on additional degrees in Multiple Majors policy. This policy recognizes the value of post-baccalaureate study not only for earning additional undergraduate degrees but also as a pathway to master鈥檚, doctoral, or professional programs in fields distinct from the student鈥檚 prior academic background.

26.5.2 Revision History

  • Approved by Dr. Raul Tapia (Academic Senate), 12/16/2025; Deans Council, 11/21/2025; Berna Rhodes-Ford, General Counsel, 7/15/2026; Dr. Gwen Sharp, Interim Provost, 7/15/2026; Dr. Amber Lopez Lasater, Acting President, 7/29/2026.

The post AO 26 Post-baccalaureate Programs and Additional Degrees appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-26-post-baccalaureate-programs-and-additional-degrees/feed/ 0
AO 5 Credit Hour Policy /policy/current/ao-5-credit-hour-policy/ /policy/current/ao-5-credit-hour-policy/#respond Wed, 29 Jul 2026 21:06:03 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986996 Download PDF Here 5.1 Federal and Accreditation Regulations NS measures student learning in alignment with the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) Credit Hour Policy, which relies on federal regulations on the definition and assignment of credit hours. Federal regulations mandate that accredited institutions comply with the definition of the credit hour in 34 […]

The post AO 5 Credit Hour Policy appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here

5.1 Federal and Accreditation Regulations

NS measures student learning in alignment with the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) Credit Hour Policy, which relies on federal regulations on the definition and assignment of credit hours.

Federal regulations mandate that accredited institutions comply with the definition of the credit hour in 34 CFR Section 600.2, which defines the credit hour as:

鈥n amount of student work鈥s approved by the institution鈥檚 accrediting agency鈥hat is consistent with commonly accepted practice in postsecondary education and that:

  1. Reasonably approximates not less than:
  • One hour of classroom or direct faculty instruction and a minimum of two hours of out-of-class student work each week for approximately 15 weeks for one semester鈥our of credit鈥r the equivalent amount of work over a different amount of time; or
  • At least an equivalent amount of work as required in [1 above]鈥 for other academic activities鈥ncluding laboratory work, internships, practica, studio work, and other academic work leading to the award of credit hours; and
  1. Permits an institution, in determining the amount of work associated with a credit hour, to account for a variety of delivery methods, measurements of student work, academic calendars, disciplines, and degree levels.

Credit value for courses is governed by the Academic Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee and the NSHE Common Course Numbering system. Course approval requests should include a justification of the credit value. Periodic review of course credit values will be incorporated into each school鈥檚 curriculum review schedule to ensure they accurately reflect the amount of work required in the course. Course schedules for all classes are adjusted as needed to ensure contact time for instruction is equivalent to the federal guidelines noted above.

Instructional time per credit is defined to provide a consistent minimum expectation for students and faculty. For lecture, seminar, lab, or equivalent courses, students are expected to spend at least two hours outside of the classroom each week for each credit of classroom learning. For example, if weekly instructional time is 50 minutes, then students should engage in approximately two hours of work outside the classroom. For courses scheduled during shorter terms (such as summer or 8-week sessions), hours per week should be adjusted proportionately. For SON, 1 credit hour for a full-length term would equal 3 hours in lab or clinical settings.

5.2 Course Formats/Modalities

In-person courses meet at a predetermined and designated physical location. Online courses meet entirely over the internet as either a self-paced class (asynchronous) or with scheduled meeting times (synchronous). A hybrid course melds in-person and online components; at least 25% of total contact time must be met online. Syllabi for hybrid courses must clearly articulate expectations for when students must meet in person and when they must meet or complete work online. Students pay a distance education fee for hybrid and online courses.

Instructors cannot change the modality of a course (from in-person to online, etc.) after students begin enrolling for the term without dean approval. Approved changes must be communicated to students, the Office of the Registrar, and the Cashier鈥檚 Office as soon as possible so any changes to student fees can be posted to students鈥 accounts. Modality changes are not made after the first day of a term except in an emergency.

5.3 Clinical Hours, Supervised Field Experience, or Student Teaching

Clinical experiences allow for observation, participation, studies of individual students or clients, individual field work, and practicums, both on and off campus. Credit for clinical experiences is determined based on recommendations of relevant accrediting bodies or state regulations.

To earn credits, the amount of time must be reasonably equivalent to the federal standard in 5.1 above.

5.4 Meeting Contact Time

The Office of the Registrar audits the course schedule to ensure that the meeting times for each course meet the minimum contact time for the credits earned. Faculty members retain primary responsibility and discretion for meeting the required instructional contact time for their course.

In the event of instructor absence, faculty members shall determine appropriate alternative instructional activities or make-up arrangements in a manner consistent with course learning outcomes and credit-hour requirements. Such alternatives may include, but are not limited to, recorded lectures, alternative assignments, online instructional activities, or rescheduled class meetings. Online activities may be substituted for up to one week of 15-week in-person course meetings (or the equivalent in shorter terms); this is not considered a modality change. Longer shifts to online work may impact federal definitions of a course and must be reviewed by the Dean and the Registrar to confirm any impacts for federal course designation thresholds before approval.

5.5 Related Information

  • NWCCU
  • 34 CFR 600.2

5.5.1 Revision History

  • Approved by Dr. Raul Tapia, Chair of Academic Faculty Senate Faculty Affairs Committee, 3/09/2026; Deans Council (6 for, 0 against), 3/28/2026; Berna Rhodes-Ford, General Counsel, 7/22/2026; Dr. Gwen Sharp, Interim Provost, 7/22/2026; and Dr. Amber Lopez Lasater, Acting President, 7/29/2026.

The post AO 5 Credit Hour Policy appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-5-credit-hour-policy/feed/ 0
Academic Policies Glossary /policy/current/academic-policies-glossary/ /policy/current/academic-policies-glossary/#respond Fri, 26 Jun 2026 16:41:42 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986511 Link to Academic Policies Glossary                            

The post Academic Policies Glossary appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The post Academic Policies Glossary appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/academic-policies-glossary/feed/ 0
AO 30: Minors and Concentrations /policy/current/ao-30-minors-and-concentrations/ /policy/current/ao-30-minors-and-concentrations/#respond Tue, 23 Jun 2026 23:16:36 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986466 Download PDF Here 30.1: Academic Minors A minor is a structured plan of study requiring 18 to 21 credits; an exception from the Division of Academic Affairs is required for minors over 21 credits. Minors must include at least 9 upper-division credits unless approval from the Division of Academic Affairs is granted. Declaring a minor […]

The post AO 30: Minors and Concentrations appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here


30.1: Academic Minors

A minor is a structured plan of study requiring 18 to 21 credits; an exception from the Division of Academic Affairs is required for minors over 21 credits. Minors must include at least 9 upper-division credits unless approval from the Division of Academic Affairs is granted.

Declaring a minor is optional unless otherwise stated by a degree program (for instance, the Data Science major requires students to choose a minor). A minor appears on a student鈥檚 transcript but is not printed on their diploma.

30.1.2 Requirements and Limitations

1. Undecided students and non-degree-seeking students cannot declare a minor.

2. Students cannot declare a major and minor of the same discipline (for example, a Deaf Studies major cannot be combined with a Deaf Studies minor). Decisions regarding whether a major and minor are in the same discipline are made by the dean.

3. Students follow the minor requirements of the catalog year in which they declare the minor or the catalog year when they will graduate.

4. Students can declare no more than 3 minors. At least 9 credits must be unique to each minor and cannot be counted toward the other minor(s).

5. Course overlap is allowed between minor, major, and/or Core Curriculum requirements. At least 9 credits must be unique to the minor and cannot overlap with major requirements.

6. Students must earn a grade of C- or better in all required courses.

7. A minor cannot be added after a student鈥檚 degree has been conferred.

8. If a student decides not to complete a declared minor, they must drop the minor by completing the Change or Add a Minor e-form in the NS portal. Degrees and diplomas cannot be posted or issued until all declared programs are completed.

30.2 Concentrations

Concentrations are groups of courses that differentiate specializations within a program.

Concentrations that are included in the name of a major/degree and submitted for external review and approval as part of the name (such as presentation to the Board of Regents and the accrediting agency) will appear on a student鈥檚 diploma. If a concentration is not formally approved as part of the name of a program, it will appear on a student鈥檚 transcript but not on their diploma.

30.2.1 Requirements and Limitations

1. Courses may overlap between concentrations within a single program.

2. Students cannot combine a concentration with a major or minor of the same discipline (for example, a Criminal Justice concentration cannot be combined with a Criminal Justice major or minor). Decisions regarding whether a concentration and another academic program are in the same discipline will be made by the dean.

3. Students cannot combine a major with no concentration with a major of the same discipline with a concentration (for example, Biology cannot be combined with Biology with a concentration in Cell and Molecular).

4. Students pursuing Elementary Education majors cannot combine multiple concentrations.

30.3 Teaching Endorsements

While teaching endorsement courses may be taken at NS, endorsements are not issued by the University. They are added to an individual鈥檚 teaching license by the 麻豆原创 Department of Education.

30.4 Related Information

– Change or Add a Minor Form (in the )

– Replaces statement on minors in the academic catalog

30.4.1 Revision History

– Revisions approved by Dr. Christine Beaudry on 5/02/2023; Dr. Vickie Shields on 5/23/2023; and President DeRionne Pollard on 9/12/2023.

The post AO 30: Minors and Concentrations appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-30-minors-and-concentrations/feed/ 0
AO 28: Continuous Enrollment (Undergraduates) /policy/current/ao-28-continuous-enrollment-undergraduates/ /policy/current/ao-28-continuous-enrollment-undergraduates/#respond Tue, 23 Jun 2026 23:13:52 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986464 Download PDF Here 28.1: Initial Enrollment First-year students entering in the fall semester are required to attend New Student Orientation (NSO) prior to enrolling. At NSO, the Academic Advising Center (AAC) administratively blocks students into fall courses. Based on course availability and students鈥 individual placements, students will be enrolled in English or math courses needed […]

The post AO 28: Continuous Enrollment (Undergraduates) appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here


28.1: Initial Enrollment

First-year students entering in the fall semester are required to attend New Student Orientation (NSO) prior to enrolling. At NSO, the Academic Advising Center (AAC) administratively blocks students into fall courses. Based on course availability and students鈥 individual placements, students will be enrolled in English or math courses needed to meet Core Math and English requirements.

Transfer students must self-register for the appropriate math/English course based on their placement scores or transfer credits. Refer to AO 12: Placement Testing (Undergraduates) for information on how students are placed into math and English Composition courses.

28.2 Continuing Enrollment

Any student not blocked into Core math and English for their first semester must enroll in the required Core math and English courses by the end of their second semester or before they complete 30 NS credits.

28.3 Approval to Drop

Students must get advisor approval to drop or withdraw from MATH 120/120E, MATH 126/126E, and ENG 100, 101, 116, or 102. Students approved to drop one of these courses must acknowledge the following statement through an online link provided by the AAC:

Based upon NSHE policy Title 4, Chapter 16, Section 1.2, within the聽first two regular academic semesters following initial enrollment,聽all degree-seeking students must be enrolled in a college-level or corequisite gateway English and [/or] mathematics course or the equivalent for a certificate program (e.g. embedded curriculum) until the institutional core curriculum English and mathematics聽requirements are completed.

This petition is聽required聽to be completed by those who wish to drop Math or English coursework within their first 30 academic credits. It is the responsibility of the student to remain compliant with enrollment requirements, and聽failure to complete required math and English coursework聽may result in a compliance hold being placed on your student account.聽This hold would prevent future registration outside of math or English until the requirement has been met.

By typing your full name below you acknowledge that you understand that聽math and English are required courses to be completed through the minimum core requirement before the completion of 30 credits, and by dropping this course you risk future registration until this requirement is met.

Once approval is granted, the student is responsible for dropping the course; courses will not be administratively dropped for them. Students who do not drop the course in their Student Center remain enrolled and are responsible for any charges and final course grades for the course.

28.4 Registration Holds

Students who have not enrolled in their Core math and English before completing 30 NS credits will have a hold placed on their account preventing future course enrollment.

28.5 Extension Petitions

Students may petition for a one-semester extension by completing the Continuous Enrollment Petition Form with the AAC. Students approved for an extension must enroll in the approved sections of the required Core math and English courses.

Students who wish to drop either Core math or Core English during the petition period will be required to receive drop consent from their Academic Advisor.

Students who do not successfully complete Core math and English in their petitioned semester will be restricted from taking courses at NS until Core math and English are completed. Students can take Core math and English during this restriction period through administrative enrollment. No other courses will be allowed.

28.6 Related Information

– NSHE Placement Policy 鈥 Title 4 – Codification of Board Policy Statements – Chapter 16

– AO 12: Placement Testing (Undergraduates)

28.6.1 Revision History

– Approved by Dr. Vickie Shields on 5/18/2022 and President DeRionne Pollard on 7/05/2022.

The post AO 28: Continuous Enrollment (Undergraduates) appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-28-continuous-enrollment-undergraduates/feed/ 0
AO 27: Special Course Fees /policy/current/ao-27-special-course-fees/ /policy/current/ao-27-special-course-fees/#respond Tue, 23 Jun 2026 23:10:53 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986462 Download PDF Here 27.1: Courses Requiring Special Fees Students pay a per-credit registration fee, which is supplemented by state general funds to cover customary expenses associated with educational costs. However, some courses require extraordinary costs to provide students with the experiences necessary to master the skillset taught through the course. BOR policy allows NS to […]

The post AO 27: Special Course Fees appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here


27.1: Courses Requiring Special Fees

Students pay a per-credit registration fee, which is supplemented by state general funds to cover customary expenses associated with educational costs. However, some courses require extraordinary costs to provide students with the experiences necessary to master the skillset taught through the course. BOR policy allows NS to charge a special course fee for such courses.

The amount of a special course fee must be based on anticipated expenditures for a specific course during an academic year. To the extent practicable, the population that pays the fee should benefit from it. Special course fee uses are limited to the allowable exceptions outlined in NSHE P&G Manual Chapter 7, Section 12:

– Individual instruction;

– Class supplies, course-specific software, and specialized equipment;

– Third-party charges for use of a facility;

– Special transportation requirements;

– Extraordinary instructional costs; or

– Some combination of these.

Special course fees will not be established to cover the cost of capital equipment. A balance of no more than the annual amount of revenue may be carried forward into subsequent years (NSHE Handbook Title 4, Chapter 10, Section 19). The account manager should monitor account balances to ensure that revenues are approximately equal to expenses. At least annually, the Budget Office will provide schools with reviews of account activity, highlighting any concerns. Special course fees are evaluated annually to ensure an appropriate amount is being charged.

The president (or designee) must approve all new special course fees, fee changes, and fee eliminations. The BOR must approve special course fees above $50. The Cashier鈥檚 Office ensures that correct special course fees are charged and appropriate supporting documentation is maintained, and that the academic catalog reflects accurate fee information.

27.2 Deadlines

1. Before students are charged, special course fees must be approved through the curriculum review process and added to the academic catalog.

2. Requests for fees of $50 or less must be approved by the president (or designee) by December 31st.

3. Requests for fees above $50, including changes to existing fees that result in a total of more than $50 per course, must be approved by the president (or designee) by September 30th in order to be submitted for approval at the December BOR meeting.

4. All new fees, fee changes, and fee eliminations approved by these deadline are effective the following summer term.

27.3 Approval Process

1. Submit proposals for all new special course fees, fee changes, or fee deletions using the e-form in the NS portal. Provide the course title, proposed fee amount, estimated number of students affected annually, and estimated revenue, as well as an explanation of how the fees will be used.

2. Consult with the account manager regarding the need for the special course fee before submitting the form.

3. After submission to the Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee, fee proposals require approval from the dean, provost, and president (or designee), and the BOR (if above $50).

4. The president (or designee) approves or denies the request and notifies the account manager and proposer.

5. For fees above $50, the president (or designee) submits the fee for BOR approval and holds the NS fee request form until the BOR approves it.

6. Approved fee additions, deletions, or changes are sent to the Registrar鈥檚 Office for posting in the catalog and then to the Cashier鈥檚 Office for system entry and coordinating charges.

27.4 Related Information

– E-form in NS portal

– NSHE Handbook Title 4, Chapter 17, Section 18: Special Course Fees

– NSHE P&G Manual Chapter 7, Section 9

27.4.1 Revision History

– Approved by Dr. Vickie Shields on 10/10/2022 and President DeRionne Pollard on 3/02/2023.

The post AO 27: Special Course Fees appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-27-special-course-fees/feed/ 0
AO 25: Baccalaureate Degree Requirements /policy/current/ao-25-baccalaureate-degree-requirements/ /policy/current/ao-25-baccalaureate-degree-requirements/#respond Tue, 23 Jun 2026 23:07:54 +0000 /?post_type=docs&p=1986460 Download PDF Here 25.1: Choice of Catalog According to the 麻豆原创 Revised Statues, 鈥渁 student at a university or state college within the System completes the full course of study for a diploma of graduation if, in accordance with the policy of the Board of Regents, the student satisfies the requirements for graduation and a […]

The post AO 25: Baccalaureate Degree Requirements appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
Download PDF Here


25.1: Choice of Catalog

According to the 麻豆原创 Revised Statues, 鈥渁 student at a university or state college within the System completes the full course of study for a diploma of graduation if, in accordance with the policy of the Board of Regents, the student satisfies the requirements for graduation and a degree as set forth in the catalog of the university or state college that is in effect at the time the student: (a) First enrolls in the university or state college or is admitted to the academic program or department of the student鈥檚 major if the program or department has a formal process for admitting students to the program or department; or (b) Graduates, whichever the student elects. A student who changes鈥ajor must elect the catalog of the year of the latest change of the major or the year of graduation. A student may not elect a catalog that is more than 10 years old at the time of鈥raduation鈥 (NRS 396.560(3)).

Undergraduate students at NS can remain on the catalog in effect during their term of entry for up to 10 years. If a catalog is more than 10 years old, the student must follow the catalog requirements in effect for the year the student graduates.

NS does not guarantee the awarding of a degree based on the unchanged requirements of a particular catalog. Periodic revisions of degree requirements are made because of changes in occupational qualifications or the expectations of accrediting or licensing bodies. The dean, with approval from the provost and president, may require reasonable adherence to school and department requirements published in a recent or current catalog. The school must communicate the changes to affected students.

The following rules regarding choice of catalog apply in specific circumstances:

1. Change of major: The year a student enrolls as a degree-seeking student at NS is the student鈥檚 assigned catalog year. If a student changes major, or was classified as undecided and selects a major, the catalog year updates to the year the student changed or selected the major.

2. Multiple majors: Students who declare multiple majors may graduate with the additional majors under the catalog of the year when they declared each major or the year they graduate. The catalog year for additional majors does not affect the catalog year of the first major.

3. Summer bridge programs: Students who applied for fall admission to NS and are reclassified as summer admits in order to participate in a University-sponsored summer bridge program will be assigned to the catalog in effect for the fall semester immediately following the bridge program.

4. Other summer admits (excluding summer bridge participants): Students who applied and were admitted for a summer term may follow the catalog of the fall semester immediately following their summer enrollment. Students must request to be moved to the fall catalog through the Office of the Registrar. Students are encouraged to first meet with an advisor to ensure they understand any consequences of the catalog change.

5. Returning students: Returning students are assigned to the catalog year when they are re-admitted. They may request to follow the catalog of the year of their initial admission and enrollment at NS, providing that catalog is not more than 10 years old when they graduate. Requests are submitted to the Office of the Registrar. Students are encouraged to first meet with an advisor to ensure they understand any consequences of the catalog change.

a. Students returning from a University-approved leave of absence (such as approved military leave) may follow the catalog rights described in the relevant leave of absence policy.

b. If unusual circumstances caused an extended absence without approved leave, a student may petition for an exception to policy allowing them to re-enroll without reapplying and being readmitted to NS. Exceptions must be approved by the provost (or designee).

6. Transfer students: Any exceptions for students transferring from other NSHE institutions will be stated in transfer agreement documents.

7. Other exceptions: The president may waive catalog requirements or approve exceptions to catalog year assignments. Exceptions are made at the president鈥檚 discretion on a case-by-case and cannot be appealed.

25.2 Academic Requirements

To graduate from NS, undergraduate students must meet the following requirements:

1. Minimum GPA: Earn a Cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher, including all postsecondary coursework attempted, as well as a NS GPA of at least 2.0, as calculated by the Office of the Registrar. This requirement excludes courses graded as Audit, Incomplete, Not Reported, In Progress, Satisfactory, Unsatisfactory, and Withdraw (AD, I, NR, X, S, U, and W, respectively).

2. Four-year institution credits: For students on catalogs from Fall 2022 or earlier, at least half of the required credits for their degree must be earned at a 4-year institution.

3. Other academic requirements: A school may establish additional academic requirements.

4. NS residency: Complete 30 upper-division credits at NS.

25.3 Related Information

– Academic Catalog (Admissions Information)

– Admissions information for

25.3.1 Revision History

– Revisions approved by Dr. Vickie Shields on 6/26/2019 and President Bart Patterson on 7/15/2019.

The post AO 25: Baccalaureate Degree Requirements appeared first on 麻豆原创.

]]>
/policy/current/ao-25-baccalaureate-degree-requirements/feed/ 0